Author Topic: Does base depth matter?  (Read 2321 times)

Ken Portner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Does base depth matter?
« on: February 07, 2015, 06:09:18 AM »
Can't find any explicit reference to this although it's implied that bases are square. On the other hand, the unit cards are rectangular.  Does it matter? Thanks.

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5440
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 06:38:27 AM »
There is no specific required base depth, but it's best not to go too "shallow."  Anything from a square to a 3:2 rectangle should be fine.

Nick B

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2015, 06:41:45 AM »
Can you play with any reasonable basing, so long as both sides are the same?

I currently have 6cm x 6cm bases (for Polemos) - will they work as they are?

Many thanks

Nick

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5440
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2015, 07:13:49 AM »
Yes, as mentioned above, square bases are fine.

I intended that, also, for people who still had bases from my 2002 game "Grande Armée."

maddrmark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • de nerdibus
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2015, 07:27:59 AM »
It was the "big base" idea that first brought Blucher to my attention.  I'm quite happy with the battalion-level rules my club plays, but I wanted a system where I could play big battles and move whole brigades around at a time.  The various sets available for that scale did not fire my imagination.  IMO they did not do a good job of presenting players with the challenges a general at that level would face. So, like the Duke of Wellington, I resolved to wait for Blucher.

And, like the Duke, my patience was well-served!  After reading through the rules last night, I am convinced I made the right decision. There is so much to like: the momentum system, Scharnhorst, the army lists which reflect national characteristics without reducing the differences to "+1 when attacking."

I am building 10mm French and Russian armies, I found myself contemplating my next force (Ottoman!) and the one after that (Austrian!) and the one after that (Polish!) and the one after that (Spanish!)....

flatsix518

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2015, 10:07:50 AM »
I'm going to base my minis on a 3" by a smidgeon less than 2".

The reason is I carry my 15's in tackle boxes.  These have four rows in each of them, 2" by 12".  You can create custom sub compartments within each row at 2" intervals.  So the max "little compartments" would be 2" by 2".  I'll divide my Blucher boxes into 2" by 6" compartments -- each can them hold two Blucher stands.  In a single tackle box, I will be able to put 24 Blucher stands.  Enough for 2-3 corps worth of troops. 

John

Captain Darling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
    • Captain Darlings Miniatures Emporium
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2017, 04:41:30 PM »
After a few games now I can see times where base depth may matter albeit only occasionally. In fact it hasn't occurred yet in an actual game...and here's what I am thinking...

I'm currently saboting my 20x20 bases on 60x40 ones (everything in mm's) on cheap bits of that flexible fridge magnet type stuff.

Using my 60x40 example. You have infantry/artillery units following each other in difficult terrain and the front unit you do not want to move (due to lack of MO's or it's down to 2 fatigue points whatever) and you want the second one to move through it you can't! You can move 1BW in difficult terrain so in my example 60mm and say you are directly behind the front stationary unit in front which is 40mm deep when you move you will not be able to clear the stationary unit so the move is invalid!!!! Or are people just allowing a clear move to occur in such an example?

But if I were to use the above example with a 60x30 or 60x20 base the move would be possible...

So is the suggested 3x2 or square options suggested definite by design to prevent the above case from occurring? If is is I'll stick with 60x40 sabots if not I'll trim them down to 60x30 or 60x25...
"There's nothing cushy about life in the Women's Auxiliary Balloon Corps!"
Quote from Blackadder Series IV Episode 4
http://captaindarlingsminiaturesemporium.blogspot.com.au
http://toysoldiersforoldgits.blogspot.com.au/

Kontos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
    • The Recoiling Knight
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2017, 06:02:49 PM »
60x40 is the 3:2 ratio and a 1 BW move in difficult like that should not be able to be done. No need to trim down. Just stay out of difficult or get your columns through ASAP! :)
Never interrupt your enemy while he is making a mistake.

Captain Darling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
    • Captain Darlings Miniatures Emporium
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2017, 06:32:51 PM »
Hey Kontos thanks, funnily enough I know 60x40 is 3 to 2 that's why I used it. I am trying to determine though if square to 3 to 2 is definite for the range to use for base sizes as no where at the beginning of chapter 9 is base depth defined just base width...it goes as far as saying 'at least the base frontages should be the same'. Our units (at all scales) tend to be too deep as we allow for figures so is there an issue with 40x20 or 60x30 I don't think so...in fact it's probably more 'realistic'...
"There's nothing cushy about life in the Women's Auxiliary Balloon Corps!"
Quote from Blackadder Series IV Episode 4
http://captaindarlingsminiaturesemporium.blogspot.com.au
http://toysoldiersforoldgits.blogspot.com.au/

Kontos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
    • The Recoiling Knight
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2017, 07:34:46 PM »
The 2:1 ratio will change things a bit but as long as both armies are mounted the same it shouldn't matter. I have played with my friend's army mounted 80x40 and Blucher played just fine.
Never interrupt your enemy while he is making a mistake.

Captain Darling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
    • Captain Darlings Miniatures Emporium
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2017, 08:47:43 PM »
Great thanks Kontos, I'll run a test game with bases using the 2 to 1 base option and see how it goes, since the armies are all mine I can assure both sides are both based similarly  :)...
"There's nothing cushy about life in the Women's Auxiliary Balloon Corps!"
Quote from Blackadder Series IV Episode 4
http://captaindarlingsminiaturesemporium.blogspot.com.au
http://toysoldiersforoldgits.blogspot.com.au/

Captain Darling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
    • Captain Darlings Miniatures Emporium
Re: Does base depth matter?
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2017, 03:43:06 AM »
Just a follow up I played a test with 2 to 1 ratio sabot bases and everything worked okay will try it out with my mates this Monday night when we'll play Quatre Bras and see what they think.

I also have looked through the Rules forum aft our initial plays and found this has been brought up many times before there, I didn't think of looking under rules for feedback on this should have!
"There's nothing cushy about life in the Women's Auxiliary Balloon Corps!"
Quote from Blackadder Series IV Episode 4
http://captaindarlingsminiaturesemporium.blogspot.com.au
http://toysoldiersforoldgits.blogspot.com.au/