Author Topic: Cavalry counter-charging?  (Read 294 times)

Scottie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Cavalry counter-charging?
« on: March 19, 2017, 02:27:53 PM »
Hi everyone.  I am very new to the game but am enjoying it immensely.  When the active player charges a cavalry unit against enemy cavalry, does the passive player get to counter-charge or only receive the charge at 'defend' as per infantry?  Many thanks

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5227
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Cavalry counter-charging?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 05:09:52 PM »
I'm confused; what page, exactly, references a "countercharge" ?

I think it's page 62 you're wanting:


When an active unit charges into contact with the enemy, it stops at the moment of contact with the first enemy base in its path. Neither the active nor passive side “squares up,” nor adjusts in any way.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2017, 05:11:28 PM by Le Grand Fromage »

Scottie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Cavalry counter-charging?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 08:08:48 PM »
Sorry I didn't make myself clear.  I hadn't actually come across any reference to a counter-charge and so was just asking whether in fact this doesn't happen and to confirm therefore that the cavalry of the passive player simply 'stays put' when receiving a charge and rolls dice as per 'defender' chart?  Thanks.

SteveBurt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
    • View Profile
Re: Cavalry counter-charging?
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2017, 03:17:24 AM »
No countercharges in Longstreet; that's more a feature of European shock cavalry than ACW cavalry who were (mostly) mounted infantry.

Scottie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Cavalry counter-charging?
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2017, 12:44:25 PM »
Great thanks for clarifying Steve.  Yes I have come to this with the lens of other rules which can get in the way at times.  Thanks again.