Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - SirBasilBarfly

Pages: [1] 2
1
Lasalle Rules Questions / Fighting over a bridge
« on: April 12, 2018, 12:18:06 AM »
After reading through the topic ' Topic: Attacking trough a bridge' and having gone through the book from cover to cover, we could not find a specific Lasalle rule regarding a bridge assault.  We surmised that an attack column was to wide for a bridge, so, in order to attack over a bridge we would have to implement what we think would be correct:-

The attacker should be forced into march column to cross the bridge. I believe this should be a mandatory rule that crossing any bridge/river crossing/pontoon bridge as it just makes sense regarding the frontage of a unit and the width of the crossing.  The move from one side of the bridge to the other should be counted as a charge.  This means as an attacker he does not get a penalty for being in march column as only the defender is penalised when in March column.  However, as the attacker would only be able to have a frontage of one base width, he will have to halve his dice for having less than or equal to half the frontage of the defender.  An option could also be argued for a -2 for bad terrain as it would be difficult to deploy sufficient troops in the front line after crossing the bridge.
If you are using weather, regardless of the roll for the terrain, the bridge is always classified 'dry' for moving.
The play could be something like this:-
Player A(French) forms up in March column in the preceding turn on his end of the bridge.
In his Activity phase of his next turn, he moves in one move charging across the bridge coming into contact with Player B(Austrian) who have the same esprit.
As both are experienced troops the matchup is something like this:  Player A is half dice(from 8 to 4)  If you include bad terrain you would lose another 2 dice, leaving only 3 dice to roll(All modifiers are done before halving) rolling for 5's and 6's.
Player B has a small defending battalion, giving him 8 dice.  Not impossible, but very unlikely to lose.  Just like the real thing.
However, looking through references to bridge crossings, most were made by elite troops or lead by a brave commander attached to the unit with supporting fire from artillery.
Lets look at that:-
Player A(French) forms up in March column in the preceding turn on his end of the bridge, this time made up of Grenadiers(Valiant) and their commander is with them and he has a +1 to the battle.
The French moved up a horse battery on one flank of the battalion pointing at the defenders and fired causing 1 casualty(cannister, 6 dice).
In his Activity phase of his next turn, he moves in one move charging across the bridge coming into contact with Player B(Austrian).
Now the odds are different:
The French player now has 8 dice, +2 for a higher esprit, but if you include bad terrain, he loses 2 dice, bringing his total back to 8 dice, halving them to 4 dice.  Also, as a sub-commander is attached, he gets a +1 to his rolls, now making it 4 dice rolling 4,5 or 6 for a hit.
The Austrians have a small regular defending battalion, giving him 8 dice.  However, he has a casualty, dropping down to 7 dice with only a 5 or a 6 for a hit.  Now the odds aren't that bad.  If the Austrians also had General von Numbskull in charge and the French General didn't have the +1 modifier, he could force the Austrian General to use his -1 disadvantage making only 6's as hits for the Austrians.
 
However, while this may seem daunting, bridges were crossed many times during the Napoleonic wars.  If you are stuck with a river crossing, you can also use engineers to build a pontoon bridge (providing you are playing the optional engineering rules) across the river at some point where there are no defenders.  Backed up by artillery and getting a little lucky(my unfortunate opponent didn't roll a 4+ for the first 10 turns) you could be across before your opponent can get troops up to defend it.  Remember, rivers are a minimum of 2BW!

I hope this explains how to cross a bridge for game map Even Roll 1, 'The Bridge Crossing' or any other bridge you may want to cross.

Basil

2
Rules Questions / An interpretation please
« on: May 17, 2017, 01:18:33 AM »
Hi,
I am enquiring regarding an interpretation of the rules regarding multiple attacks.  Basically, if you attack one brigade with two brigades and the defender outscores the attacker, say by 2(A rolls 4 hits and D rolls 6), does the attacker lose 2 elan from each brigade or are they distributed as 1 elan loss to each brigade, plus another elan loss for attacking?  I am not sure if the rules on P56 adequately explain about how losses are taken if the attacker losses.

Basil 

3
Lasalle Rules Questions / Irregular Formation
« on: February 12, 2017, 09:02:19 PM »
Dear Sam, I have a friend who is confused about 'irregular formations'  His Russian Jagers where in woods where he was charged by 2 Austrian battalions.  He choose to fall back.  He rolled successfully and moved back 3 BW.  However, he states that there is no 'irregular formation' in the rules and as such he should be able to move whatever he thinks he should.  When the unit fell back from the woods, what formation is the irregular jager unit supposed to be in and how far can that unit move in his movement turn.

Also, one of the questions he raised is why is there no 'skitmish' formation, for such units as Russian/Austrian Jagers, French Light Infantry, British Light Infantry/Rifles etc?  Could certain battalions/regiments act in this capacity, ie moving faster, shooting further etc?  Possibly this may have to be a house rule.

Desperately seeking an answer

Basil

4
Lasalle Rules Questions / Artillery being shot at then charged
« on: January 17, 2017, 05:00:44 PM »
Greetings,
I came across a situation where I could not find a solution in the rules or the forum so far.
I was facing 2 Russian Infantry brigades where my opponent had all 4 batteries in line in front of his infantry(20 guns on flat open terrain is daunting!).  Anyway, after much advancing and fighting, I was able to bring 2 of my Bavarian battalions within charge range.  In my reaction phase of my turn, I shot his artillery, forcing it to limber.  Then in my movement phase I charged it.  Since it was limbered, we couldn't find if:-
1)  I made contact, does he roll in his activity phase to see if falls back.  I believe he would have to roll and re-roll a success for him to escape.  Each battery would have to roll and reroll any successes.
2)  He had one battery against the edge of the table(A), limbered, but battery (B) had an avenue of escape  behind the Russian Battalion next to it.  Battery (A) would exit the field and become a casualty.

So, trying to find the correct solution was impossible, as most references were to batteries that were Limbered  However, I found in the Errata that p37 heading 'Unlimbered Artillery' should have read now as 'Limbered Artillery'.
Would that mean, he would have to roll a discipline test and re rolled a success to escape because he was limbered in (A)'s case and as he had nowhere to run as I understand you must fall back and if at the edge of the table, that means you loose the unit.  In battery (B)'s case, if successful and after re rolling a success, he could make his way back based on the roll number in the discipline test and make his way to the back of the Russian Battalion.

Am I correct or did I stuff it up?

Basil

5
Lasalle: Optional and House Rules / Cards for Lasalle
« on: January 02, 2017, 08:03:45 PM »
Greetings all.
Firstly, I would like to say I really enjoy Lasalle.  I have also played Maurice and enjoyed the unknown factor of the cards.  Now while I know Sam is considering a Lasalle 2.0 which may include cards, I have developed a set for the interim.
Now these have not been sanctioned by Sam and they are at present under test phase, so I would love to hear any input from you guys regarding these cards. 

I felt the need to develop these cards after having my butt kicked all over the place by a new player who rolled unbelievably well, while I rolled like a noob.  I thought that by introducing the random factor of cards, that it might offset the luck(both good and bad) that some players(like me, bad) seem to be consistent in having.

There are 2 sets of cards, 8 cards with National Characteristics that you choose 1 card and that card affects your army on the day. 
The second set is 35 card where you get 5 cards dealt to you before the game starts, then draw a new card each turn, but you are not allowed to have more than 5 cards in your hand at the end of your turn.  Each card has a symbol as to what part of the turn it is to be played.

Anyway, tell me what you think and Sam, if you choose to remove the cards I will understand.  These cards at present are being used in our club and are still under testing.  I am just trying to help, even if the help is unwanted.

Thanks
Michael Colclough(SirBasilBarfly)
PS, My apologies about the quality of the cards, I had to do some magic to get it to be within the allowed upload file size.  If anyone wants the original file with better quality(about 6mb), send me a message.

6
Greetings,
I have been interested in playing some larger battles with Lasalle, however, due to time constraints, money and table availability amongst other things, I just dont have the time/money to do it.  So, I have devised a method of being able to do this on a different scale to what Sam has laid out in the game, with only a few minor modifications:-
1.  All rules for Movement remain the same.
2.  Units are adjusted to the size of the attachment, with formations laid out accordingly.
3.  Combat stays the same, the number of bases in the new scale still have 2 dice per base.
4.  The Firing rule is only changed insofar that the number of hits is the number of DSR hits.  So, if you roll '3 hits' on a unit, that 3 DSR.

Nothing else changes in the rules.
Many players have used rules that have just 8-12 figure battalions.  Currently, a small battalion has 32 figures per battalion(though I base 6 figures per base for infantry and 2 cavalry per base) and that makes for hundreds of figures that many players just dont have.  I am in the same boat and this method seems to work well.  It also allows players to base their cavalry on the number of squadrons, making for a variety of combinations of specific figures and nationalities.
Essentially, it allows players to divide the number of bases by two, making a battalion around 12-16 figures and Cavary with 4-6 figures per Regiment.  A horse battery of 6 guns can be represented by 1 model, 2 gun models for an 8 gun battery and 3 guns for a large Russian battery, without rebasing or compromising the game. 

This method allows players to still enjoy Lasalle, but be more flexible in regards to the number of figures required to play as well as limited table space.  It also allows players to use their figures in having more units to play some larger historical battles without having to resort to another rule set.  Sometimes, the battles are to big for Lasalle and to small for Blucher.


Looking for comments.

Basil

7
Lasalle: Optional and House Rules / Et sans resultat conversion table.
« on: November 14, 2016, 03:49:08 AM »
If you are not aware, a company called 'The Wargaming Company' have devised a new set of Napoleonic Rules. Now while this is not new and most of us would groan 'not another set of rules, I just rebased to Lasalle/Blucher', they have devised a new concept of letting you use your own favourite rules and converting their unit elan/morale to your own rule set so you may play their campaign using whatever rules you favour.

I have sent them what I considered the equivalent conversion to which they have added.  I probably should have checked with you Sam, sorry.  However, using their books with detailed information regarding maps and units, it makes playing Lasalle great(except you need heaps of troop figures)  It also works for Blucher in the larger battles.

Here is the link:- http://thewargamingcompany.com/esr/conversion.html

Hope this is ok to put here.

Basil

8
Greetings all,
I have had a passion for the underdog and I can't find more of an underdog than the Army of Westphalia.  There for I have created this lis and I hope that Sam will approve it and add it to the other lists of Bavarians, Polish, Saxons and Ottomans.

Feel free to raise any issues with my makeup of this listing.

Thanks

Basil

9
Lasalle Rules Questions / Charging retreating infantry
« on: August 02, 2016, 10:17:51 PM »
Hi,
I came upon a situation while playing my brother in law last weekend.  He had a french battalion 'about face' in his movement phase and withdrew 2 BW.  I charged him then in the rear with a regiment of Austrian Uhlans.  According to the rules, all we could find was that he could change to square(upon a successful discipline roll) which he did.  It worked out that I had 6 x 2/2(6 dice, plus 2 for lancers v Infantry in square) giving me 8 dice against his 8.  I could not see any reason why he couldn't form square even though he was receiving a flank charge. There didnt seem to be any other penalty.   Did we miss something?

Basil
btw, I rolled 3 hits to his none, wiping them out! ;)

10
Greetings.  I came across a difficult situation while teaching a new player in Lasalle a few weeks ago.  He had played a number of older rules, including DBA(for Ancients) and Bruce Quarry rules.  Now, the situation is this:  I had my move where I advanced my Austrian Battalion on a hill to 'over the crest' which I said I had moved when I advanced.  When he attacked me with his French battalion, he argued that as his troops advanced on my troops, that when we were working out the combat modifiers, that I added a die for being on a 'higher elevation'.  His argument was that his front rank of his troops where now level with mine and as such I had no advantage of being on a higher elevation.  After about a half hour of arguing and showing the specific rule on pp56 about the use of higher elevation, I gave in to him and said fine, I wont use the higher elevation.  Was I wrong?
The second disagreement was when he moved a battalion of French against my other Austrian battalions.  I had the positioned echelon left, with the second battalion to the left and back by about 2mm.  Under the rules, his attacking battalion hit my lead battalion and had to stop there, not allowing him to 'wrap' the rest of his battalion 'around' which would then hit the second echeloned battalion(pp32 The point of contact).  He first claimed that under many other rules that his troops wouldnt stop by hitting my first battalion, but his unit should be able to move forward to wrap.  I pointed out in the rules that when you come into contact that you must stop, let me do my reaction in my phase then conduct the combat.  Still not being satisfied by my answer, he then argued saying that half his battalion (1 stand, being in attack columns) would hit my first battalion and that the other half of his battalion would hit my echeloned battalion.Again I pointed out that you cannot break a unit down like that in battle.  Again, was I wrong?

Tempers were growing and I threw the hill over my head and tried very hard to resist the urge to strangle him on the spot.  Somehow I managed to stay out of jail for losing my temper with this new player.  Now, please dont just say 'Dont play with him' because we have a limited number of players in our club and not many have 15mm Napoleonics, and while he is enthusiastic, he often refers to older rules like Bruce Quarry, DBA, Empire and Age of Eagles rules(which I asked him for examples in any of those rules which allowed a unit to split its attack, to which he couldn't.

Finally, for myself, I was wondering if you can charge in using 'oblique' moving?  On pp31, you have an ability to a 'limited wheel', but what about charging obliquely? 

Thanks

Basil


11
Lasalle Army Lists / Understanding of Brigade compositions.
« on: February 19, 2016, 11:16:07 PM »
Greetings,
As a new Lasalle player, I am a little confused regarding some'organic' allied brigades.  An example being page 123 Kingdom of Northern Italy.  Now it states an organic brigade of Infantry as 4 battalions and 1 Divisional BTY.  The 1813 Infantry brigade lists 5 battalions and 2 Divisional BTYs.  However, in the Unit Values, there are listing values for Guard or Elite Infantry.  This is also in the Cavalry where you can have 2 or 3 Regiments to the cavalry brigade plus horse guns, however they are listed in the organic list as Chasseurs.  In the Unit Values, there are listing for both Dragoons and Guard Cavalry as well, however, there is nothing listed in either brigade.
Now, notwithstanding an historical battle, is there any reason apart from Gentlemen's Agreement to substituting a line battalion with a battalion of Italian Guard infantry?  The same question goes for cavalry substitution of regiments/units.  Could I use a Regiment of Dragoons and Regiment of Italian Guard Cavalry instead of Chasseurs for the Brigade?

There are other numerous other examples to go through, but I choose the Italians as I have 4 battalions of line available and 1 battalion of Guards which were from Blucher, but now seem to be redundant in Lasalle.  Is there any other reason why I could not use the as the fifth battalion in my 1813 Italians?

Little confused
Basil

12
Lasalle Army Lists / Bavarian Listings
« on: February 08, 2016, 03:42:12 AM »
Greetings,
I have some Bavarians but I was wondering which list do I use?  I have the Bavarians under Minor Nations listing and the organic brigade is 3 battalions, 1 light battalion and 1 heavy battery.  However, in the Bavarian army list(PDF), it states that the organic brigade was 4 battalions, 1 light battalion and 1 heavy battery, which is for Empire only. 
Now I am just planning on using the Bavarians as an Allied brigade, so do I just use the Minor Nations Bavarians and not the Bavarian Army List (Empire)?

Just thought I would ask.

Basil

13
Lasalle Army Lists / Italian Division
« on: February 07, 2016, 10:49:30 PM »
Greetings,
While I know that you can have Italians as an Allied brigade using their values, they were still a corps(albeit in the Danube campaign 1809 along with a lot of French units).  Now while the Poles and Bavarians have had Army lists made for them, I was wondering if the Italians will get their own list, or like the Wurttemburgs, they will be just relegated as an allied brigade and nothing more?

Thanks
Basil

14
Rules Questions / Retreating as a result of defeating a prepared unit
« on: February 03, 2016, 06:07:56 PM »
Greetings,
We played a Blucher battle last night and an anomaly we had in so far as 2 French infantry brigades charged a single British infantry brigade that was prepared.  Now, the French won the battle(total of 10 dice, 9 between the two brigades and an extra for fighting a prepared unit vs 5 British dice, with 4 hits by the French and 2 by the British), but because they didnt break the British brigade, they(the French attacker) took 2 casualties each(1 because of combat and 1 because of not breaking the defender) and bounced back 1 BW.  The British suffered 2 causalities, but I believe the British should have also incurred another casualty because of being in combat.
Now, here are the 3 questions pertaining to this situation:

1)  Should the British brigade taken that extra casualty because it was in combat, making a total of 3 casualties(2 being the difference between French rolling 4 hits and British rolling only 2 hits, plus 1 for being in combat)?
2)  Were we correct in reading the rules that even though the British didnt break, each French brigade not only took a casualty each for being in combat, but an additional 1 because they didnt break the British?
3)  As the British were prepared, they lost the battle and therefore should have to retreat 2 BW, losing their prepared marker and facing away from the attackers? 
We have searched the rule book and this forum and much has been said about prepared units, but we could find nothing on a prepared unit being defeated in combat stating that it has to retreat as a result of losing combat as well as losing its prepared marker.

Also, all units were on open ground with no cover.

It was perplexing to the 3 of us playing.  If a prepared unit loses a battle, but doesnt have to retreat, it would make it very difficult to defeat a player who checkerboarded a corps, all prepared to receive attacks. 
Finally, does a unit that is 'prepared' have skirmish capabilities?  We see there are no shooting restrictions on a prepared unit, but could not define in the rules whether or not it could still use its skirmishers, if the unit is preparing to defend its ground.

Thanks

Basil

15
Lasalle Rules Questions / Cavalry base representation
« on: February 01, 2016, 08:10:39 PM »
Greetings,
I am sure this has been discussed and I have found references from Sam regarding cavalry bases and what they represent:
Quote
It means that a four-base Lasalle cavalry unit, which could represent two full-strength SQNs, or perhaps an understrength REGT, does represent about the same frontage as an INF battalion.
.  Having understood that a physical base of a unit(4 or 6), is an arbitrary number of cavalry being represented, I do have some things I am not sure about and would like clarification.  They are:-

On page 8 of the rules, a diagram of Brady's Division is laid out.  However, in his cavalry brigade component shows there are 2 regiments(1st and 6th Dragoons), with 2 'units' each.  Now, this is what I am not sure of:-
Does this mean that there are
a)  4 physical bases representing 2 regiments; or
b)  2 regiments with 4 physical bases each?

If it is (b), then why is the regiment described as two units per regiment?  How many bases would each regiment have?

Also, I wish to have a unit of  Old Guard Cavalry.  In the French lists, I can have 2 Old Guard Cavalry(no more than 1 lancer), and though I know that I could use either the Polish or Dutch Lancers as a single + sized regiment, could I instead, use say 3 bases for the Polish Lancers and 3 bases for the Dutch Lancers as a single unit, with say 3 bases of Grenadier a Cheval and 3 bases of Chasseur a Cheval of the Guard as another unit making up the rest of the brigade?

Finally, if you can have two 'units' of one cavalry regiment as laid out on Page 8, how big does the Regiment need to be?  Does the Regiment need to be a +sized unit to be classified as two units, making a total of four 'units' of the 2 Old Guard Cavalry, or any other cavalry for that matter. 

Its just that I have not have found any reference in the manual to split anything other than SK units breaking down to being attached to other line units.

Finally, just for my understanding, I have a 15mm Austrian Army and I want to put some SK units on.  Now, my troops are based per stand on a 40mmx25mm base x 6 bases for a +sized Austrian battalion.  My SK units are based on a 25mmx10 base with 1 figure representing SK1, 2 figures representing SK2 and so on.  However, I could not find any reference to the actual SK base size.

Can someone help me by explaining each of my questions as per relating to the rule?  The pages I refer to is on the Manual, not the PDF.

Thanks
Basil

Pages: [1] 2