Author Topic: Visibility out of woods  (Read 831 times)

zeitoun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #30 on: March 18, 2017, 04:30:25 PM »
hello Sam,

effectively I missed something, because according to the rule P 63 , the Red unit can retreat as she do in the diagram. (2 bw straight to is rear) with no pivot ,  just a 180 turn after the retreat move.

For you where did she must retreated? 

And for the advance after combat, the blue unit must advance directly ahead as per rule p 62. If the 2 untis were perfectly aligned,  i will be agree with you.  But for this case,  i think we did it right.

regards
Olivier M

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5213
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #31 on: March 18, 2017, 05:20:52 PM »
Quote
i think we did it right.

Regardless of the direction of the retreat, if Red retreated 2BW, as per the rules, and Blue advanced 1BW, then Red by definition must still be within 1BW and can be charged again.

zeitoun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #32 on: March 19, 2017, 04:05:34 AM »
the Blue upper right corner is within 1BW of the Red unit and outside the BUA. But the center of the BLUE unit, is IN the BUA and more than 1BW of the RED UNIT.  So Blue Unit cannot see the Red unit despite there is less than one BW between the 2 unit. 

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5213
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #33 on: March 19, 2017, 11:07:51 AM »
So, you're looking for a house rule that would cover the contingency of a unit retreating from obstructed terrain at an oblique angle, when the enemy follows up, and then the retreater doesn't move in his upcoming turn, but the original attacker still wants to be able to charge that same unit again in the following (i.e. third) turn... assuming the original oblique angle of retreat would make another charge possible (i.e. the original attacker's centerpoint could still be pivoted to make a legal attack.) 

That seems very specific, but OK.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2017, 11:09:26 AM by Le Grand Fromage »

zeitoun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #34 on: March 19, 2017, 01:06:15 PM »
Sam,

I'm not absolutely looking for an house rule.  In this situation, as you said,  there is a lot of parameters. But during our last game ,  we have encounter 3 issues with the maximum of visibility when Units are in a wood,  or a BUA. 

Charge with oblique angle are common.
Unit in BUA too.
retreat and pursuit also.

The next turn, my opponent needs no MO to save his unit. For me ,i need at least 2 MO (2 turns ) to charge again. It's very difficult to attack in Blucher, ( Defending is easier) so if i can find something that could help players.

After severals games ( not more than you of course). I think that unfortunately , we must create an house rule for visibility outside a bua or a wood.

probably unit into a wood or BUA ,  can see outside if there is less than 1BW between the unit and the border of the wood or BUA. ?  Or Unit in a wood or BUA have 2BW of visibility if there is less than 1BW between the unit and the border of the wood or BUA ( that prevent to be shot at short range by artillery without the possibilty of charging her or to be able to charge first a unit in range)   

What other players think about that ?

Thanks Sam for your attention to this topic.

Sniper_Pixie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Visibility out of woods
« Reply #35 on: March 19, 2017, 02:50:08 PM »
I think the visibility of 1 BW for units in woods or towns is fine, as it represents the difficulty in organising the troops to get out.

Regarding retreat distance, unless a unit is contacted flat on, front edge to front or back edge, a unit retreating directly away from it will end 2BW + the initial distance between the centrepoint and the opponent away. Is this not the way it should be played?