Lasalle > Lasalle Rules Questions

Flank Attack and Reactions

(1/3) > >>

Razgor:
Last weekend we play a few Lasalle games and try to find a solution for this situation:
An Austrian Infantrie Unit made a flank attack against one of my Franch Infantrie Units.

In my (Austrian) Reaction Phase i thought about my possible reactions...

-About Face...that means 180 degrees and not 90 degrees (?), so this is not a solution.
-Chance Formation...can i make a "change formation-Test" and turn 90 degrees ?
-Fall back... ? Is this possible ?
-Or stand and fight, but being flanked.

Did i miss something ?

marke:
If flanked you have few options. Options are:

* About face likely won't help - unless attacked from behind as this is a 180.

* Change formation likely won't help either unless the attacker is Cav and you go to a square as one base has to remain stationary.

* Fall back works IF they can move back and clear the opponents units, without interpenetrating them at all. Otherwise, it won't be allowed

* You can't shoot the attacking unit as it came in on a flank. You might be able to shoot another unit to the front though...

* Otherwise it's stand there and take it.

So if fall back does not work then the unit will have to fight flanked. The message in the story is avoid getting flanked in the first place. :)

Razgor:

--- Quote from: marke on May 23, 2012, 11:22:03 AM ---...You might be able to shoot another unit to the front though...

--- End quote ---

This is interesting. I thought it would not be allowed, cause they are in HtH-combat.

doomben:
Couple of nuances:

* A fall back does not need to be backwards - you can fall "back" forwards.  You can also include a wheel.  So there may be multiple ways you can fall back to avoid the flank attack.

* One reason to change formation is you might be able make the defender halve by not then having your unit in front of more than half its bases (or all your unit entirely in front of his unit).  You may still be attacked in the flank, but the attacker would then also halve his dice.  Note however these sorts of formation changes are generally frowned on  - but they are legal.

Cam

marke:

--- Quote from: Razgor on May 23, 2012, 11:59:45 AM ---
--- Quote from: marke on May 23, 2012, 11:22:03 AM ---...You might be able to shoot another unit to the front though...

--- End quote ---

This is interesting. I thought it would not be allowed, cause they are in HtH-combat.

--- End quote ---

You might be right.. I would have to check the rules on that. :)

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version