Author Topic: Advancing after an escape  (Read 225 times)

abenson229

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Advancing after an escape
« on: July 03, 2017, 08:17:58 PM »
If a defending unit successfully escapes after combat, is the attacker allowed to advance afterwards?

My opponent argues "No" because the combat has not be 'resolved' (the rule states "At the moment that all combat results are revealed...") and therefore the attacking player hasn't actually 'won' the combat.

I argue that you can absolutely can advance if a unit successfully escapes because revealing the cards IS resolving the combat.  That's how you know if you want to try to escape in the first place.

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5341
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Advancing after an escape
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2017, 11:22:25 AM »
As per page 52:

...if a passive unit escaped or was broken, then leave some temporary marker in front of its attacker, to remind you that
this active unit will be eligible to advance after all combats and escapes have been resolved..