Author Topic: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification  (Read 1408 times)

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5481
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« on: October 11, 2017, 07:09:44 AM »
Some of you have asked for a more detailed explanation of the sequence of retreats in complex combats. I will probably add this text to the Errata, but I want to post it here for a while first, to make sure it's clear and nobody can come up with any exceptions:

* * * * *

Elaboration: The Sequence of Retreating
Sometimes a combat can be complex if both sides take multiple hits and mobile defending units evade. Here is a sequence for how to retreat.

1.   Did the defender play the Withdraw tactic? If so, he retreats immediately and there is no combat, unless the attacker cancelled this tactic with a Pinning Attack.

2. Did the defenders suffer hits in the combat? If so, apply them as per page 49. If a defending mobile unit must take multiple hits, then instead of taking his last hit, he could evade (retreat) instead. (Note that if a defender must take four or more hits, he will never have a chance to evade because he'll be shattered by the first three hits before he gets the chance. Nor can any defenders evade if Pinning Attack was played.)

3.   Did the attackers suffer any hits in the combat? If so, apply them as per page 49.

4.   Did any defenders survive the combat? If so, the passive player may opt to retreat them now, if he wishes.

5.   Are any defenders still in the square? If so, all attackers must retreat.

6.   Tip all units that retreated, for whatever reason (Withdraw tactic, evasion, etc.)


A defending unit may never retreat into the square from which any attackers entered this combat. It is possible, though, in a crowded area with lots of adjacent combats, that a defender from this combat, might retreat into the currently-empty square from which attackers entered another combat that hasn't been resolved yet. That could really ruin that attacker's day, since it would cut off his mandatory path of retreat and result in him being shattered if he had to retreat. That's why the active player can choose the sequence of combats, and should be careful, when making attacks, not to set himself up for something like that.

This is a perfectly legal tactic: mobile units are supposed to be flexible and dangerous!
« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 07:19:45 AM by Le Grand Fromage »

Peter Clarke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 07:42:49 AM »
A trick I hadn't considered ... and another good reason having a support for your attacking force. Isn't that what was called 'keeping one foot on the ground'?

Peter

Grignotage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 07:08:33 AM »
That retreat-into-the-enemy-escape-route is down right ungentlemanly! Love it.

shadojack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2018, 12:56:19 PM »
"This is a perfectly legal tactic: mobile units are supposed to be flexible and dangerous!"

I suppose you could play it this way.  We went with "enemy held squares" are squares currently occupied, or occupied by enemy units at the beginning of this turn.  Since we typically play with attacking units in that "limbo" of half-in/half-out of the attacked square, it makes it easy to see where defending units can't retreat.

Cheers,

Ray

kentreuber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2018, 01:07:06 PM »
If the defender withdraws, do any attacker’s tactics still count as used?

armstp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2018, 10:46:36 PM »
As I understand it, tactics are played simultaneously, therefore all tactics selected for that combat by both sides are paid for and used, even if they are wasted because the enemy has run away.

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5481
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Order of Retreats: An Elaboration / Clarification
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2018, 02:46:27 AM »
Quote
If the defender withdraws, do any attacker’s tactics still count as used?

Yes.