Author Topic: Question on Tactics  (Read 401 times)

john de terre neuve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • Wargaming in 28mm and sometimes smaller
Question on Tactics
« on: December 16, 2017, 08:04:15 AM »
We had a great game last night with the Operation Battleaxe scenario it seemed to work well.

One question came up though which is quite rudimentary but we wanted to check.

Tactical Phase-Numerous Combats
1. We presumed that the attacker decides the order of combat.
2. The Offensive and Defensive Tactics utilized are only in reference to one combat. For example "Withdraw", this only refers to the one combat taking place NOT to all the combats taking place that turn. Is this correct?

Thanks,

John
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"

Kontos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
    • The Recoiling Knight
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 09:30:44 AM »
We had a great game last night with the Operation Battleaxe scenario it seemed to work well.

One question came up though which is quite rudimentary but we wanted to check.

Tactical Phase-Numerous Combats
1. We presumed that the attacker decides the order of combat.
2. The Offensive and Defensive Tactics utilized are only in reference to one combat. For example "Withdraw", this only refers to the one combat taking place NOT to all the combats taking place that turn. Is this correct?

Thanks,

John

Correct. You may choose 1eligible tactic for each unit in the combat and they apply to that combat only.
Never interrupt your enemy while he is making a mistake.

john de terre neuve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • Wargaming in 28mm and sometimes smaller
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 10:49:04 AM »
many thanks.
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"

robh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2017, 04:04:13 AM »
Correct. You may choose 1 eligible tactic for each unit in the combat and they apply to that combat only.

Reference your comment (bold added for identification):
Are you saying that the number of tactics you use cannot exceed the number of units you have in the combat?
So a German force attacking with 2 companies of heavy tanks cannot use "Smoke", "Reserve Artillery" and "Pinning Attack" in a critical attack?

Kontos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
    • The Recoiling Knight
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2017, 05:31:16 AM »
Correct. You may choose 1 eligible tactic for each unit in the combat and they apply to that combat only.

Reference your comment (bold added for identification):
Are you saying that the number of tactics you use cannot exceed the number of units you have in the combat?
So a German force attacking with 2 companies of heavy tanks cannot use "Smoke", "Reserve Artillery" and "Pinning Attack" in a critical attack?

That is in the rules, yes. You are limited. See P43. Same applies to calling for artillery barrage.
Never interrupt your enemy while he is making a mistake.

john de terre neuve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • Wargaming in 28mm and sometimes smaller
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2017, 08:12:48 AM »
From page 43:
Quote
Each side may then play one or more tactics. A player does so by spending an Op for each tactic he wishes to use in this combat. The two players make these decisions in secret (covering their command posts if necessary) and then reveal their tactics simultaneously.
It seems to say the reverse to me.

John
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"

fred

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2017, 08:52:54 AM »
I'd not noticed the max of 1 tactic per unit in the combat before. It's at the top of p45 in the PDF, right at the start of the Tactics section.
On p43 (of the PDF) this limit isn't mentioned

I do agree that tactics only apply to a single combat

Peter Clarke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2017, 08:54:37 AM »
I don't have the rules to hand, but I'm certain Kontos has this correct.  A maximum of one tactic per unit involved.

Peter

john de terre neuve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • Wargaming in 28mm and sometimes smaller
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2017, 09:33:09 AM »
Top of page 45:
Quote
Each side may play a number of tactics up to the number of units it has in the combat.

So if you have 3 units (3 bases) in a grid and you are defending you can play 3 defensive tactics.

The utilization of tactic(s) refers to a single combat.

Is that correct?

I believe if you interpret things that way both page 43 and 45 are correct.

John
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"

Le Grand Fromage

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5433
  • "Il faut cultiver son jardin."
    • View Profile
    • HONOUR
Re: Question on Tactics
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2017, 01:19:44 PM »
Up to 3 tactics in that case, yes.