Nimitz Scenario: “Surprise Encounter”

This scenario offers an option for surface actions that result from an “Engage” operation
in the Halsey campaign system, in which the passive TF is a carrier group or a convoy, or
includes merchant ships. That passive TF is said to be “surprised,” or the “surprised side,” and
has its setup restricted as shown below.

No Roll for Setup Advantage

The surprised side in this scenario always sets up first.

Table Center and Radius

Imagine a point in the very center of the Nimitz
battle board, as shown by a purple dot in the board
illustration at right. Imagine a circle with a radius
of 6” from that point. That is the “radius.”

If the surprised side has a carrier group, then
its carrier(s) must set up with their centerpoints
inside the radius. All of the surprised side’s mer-
chant ships must set up according to the “merchant
setup” rule below, and with all their centerpoints
inside the radius.

The Nimitz Battle Board

Escorting Zone

The four central squares of the board, outlined by a purple dashed line, F=A
are the “escorting zone.” Other ships of the surprised side (other than I
carriers or merchants) may set up anywhere within this zone, including

inside the radius, if desired. L o= o

Merchant Setup

You must make a good faith effort to set up all merchant ships

in as “square” a formation as possible. Start by placing one with

its centerpoint directly over the table center. Then add the other

merchants so that none’s centerpoint is more than 2” from at
least one other’s, and in “ranks and files” that are as equal in

number as possible.

For example, if you had twelve merchants, you could set them up Bk
in a 4 x 3 “box” formation. If you had ten, you might set them up

in a 3 x 3 box with one trailing behind, and so on.
. . , . Seven merchants, in
If you have a really big convoy and you simply can’t fit all of its {0 rows of 4 and 3.

ships inside the radius, then you must fit the maximum possi-
ble number of their centerpoints within the radius, and the rest
within the escorting zone.

Note that if you're using very large ship models, you might have to adjust this rule to
keep their centerpoints no more than 3” (instead of 2”) apart.



Set Up the Active Side

After all the surprised side’s ships are set up, the active side (the side that initiated this
battle with the Engage Op) now sets up anywhere in the four squares on the right-most
column, as shown by the blue dashed boundary on the previous page’s illustration.

Choice of Advantage

During the battle the active side always has the choice of advantage (move first or shoot
first) in every turn. No die roll is made.

The Convoy Scatters!

It can be tedious to fight a hopeless battle involving a convoy that can’t defend itself.
This rule applies to scenarios in which one side has merchant ships, whether they are
in a convoy or not.

In the marker step of any Nimitz turn, the passive side may declare that their fleet
scatters. When this happens, roll one die for each operational merchant ship on the
passive side, to determine its fate:

* The roll to scatter is 5+ for ships in the northern weather region, or if this battle is
happening at night.

e Otherwise, the roll to scatter is a 6.

If a ship scatters, it is removed from the Halsey campaign permanently. It will never
reach its destination and thus never provide VPs for its side in the scenario, but it will
also never be sunk by the enemy, thus denying him those VPs.

Otherwise, if a ship fails its roll to scatter, it is assumed lost, and the enemy gets the VPs
for having sunk it.

A ship that is crippled when the order to scatter is given, is sunk.
Warships Don’t Scatter

The decision to scatter applies to all merchant ships on that side. Any warships remain-
ing on the table are still there, and the Nimitz battle continues.

Other Notes

This scenario may be used for either day or night actions.

If you are using the advanced rule for auxiliary ships (page 109), but otherwise have
no other carriers or merchants, you do not use this scenario. Use a normal setup as
described in chapter five.
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